The Switch “Do you know what they do to ducks at the water foul farms?”

Hey, for those of you following me on Fingerlakes1.com, I’m really sorry there’s no video this week. I moved back to college on Wednesday and have had no time to make this week’s review. I did have just enough time top write this up. Again, sorry, there will be a video up next week for sure.

And now The Switch

The Switch: Rated PG-13, Directed by Will Speck and Josh Gordon, Starring Jason Bateman, Jennifer Aniston, Jeff Goldblum, Patrick Wilson, and featuring Thomas Robinson.

So firstly, you need to know the premise of this movie. Cassie (Jennifer Aniston) and Wally (Jason Bateman) are two best friends who used to have “a thing.” While looking at where she’s at in life, Cassie realizes she wants to have a baby while she still can. She finds a sperm donor named Roland (Patrick Wilson) who makes Wally uncomfortable. At a party, Wally drunkenly and mistakenly switches Roland’s sperm with his own. Because of the alcohol Wally doesn’t remember a thing. Seven years later Cassie’s carting around a little miniature Wally…and hilarity ensues… kind of.

Jennifer Aniston is, I think, very talented. Her usual roles are quite similar to Rachel, her character on the show Friends. Every now and then, however, she does something a little different. This role isn’t too different, but it’s not too similar. It’s a good role for her, but it wasn’t that interesting. She was sweet, funny, played a loving and wonderful mother, she was lovely as always, but she didn’t really do anything that jumped out to me.

So Jason Bateman is making his way to the top of my favorites list. I think he’s so funny in such a real-life way, but he can still do the goof-ball stuff. In this movie he’s somewhere in between which is not great, but not terrible either. I wish I could say more about it, but he doesn’t shine. He is funny, but not hysterical. I wasn’t very impressed with him either.

So I believe every word that comes out of Jeff Goldblum’s mouth is laugh-out-loud funny. And he definitely proves that right in this movie. Through all of the drama and awkward moments, he’s the part you laugh at, he’s the parts you look forward to and he’s the kind of guy everyone knows. He wasn’t spectacular in this movie and it’s not a role of his you’ll remember, but he was my favorite part and he might just be yours.

You may remember Patrick Wilson from the Watchmen and more recently the A-Team. I think he’s got a lot of talent, but he needs the right role to propel him into stardom. This film probably isn’t going to do it. He wasn’t bad, he just wasn’t anything great. He played a squeaky clean kind of guy, who donates the sperm to Cassie. Later he tries to gain “his son’s” approval. He had some funny parts, but I have a hard time telling whether or not they were on purpose. He didn’t wow me, but I still liked him.
So judging purely based on the synopsis, this sounds like it could make a goofy comedy, but it’s not. It’s a “romantic dramedy.” Which says to me that it can still be good, but instead of the film playing out like a comedy and making the situation silly, it make the situation seem awkward and actually uncomfortable to watch.

I did like it however, but I think anyone who would like to go see it should be advised that it’s hardly a comedy. It is way more of a drama and it won’t really make you laugh out loud as much as you’d think. It was just kind of a strange, well-performed, dramatic movie, but I kind of liked it.

-Alex

About thetalkeez

I'm an avid film buff and aspiring writer. I watch a lot of movies, new and old, and I've got a lot of opinions about them. Although, it's best to go see the movie yourself, maybe I could help you narrow it down .
This entry was posted in Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

